Erb, Wodzinski Top 6/5 Crash-A-Rama Winners List

June 06, 2010 at 2:09 PM

Another huge crowd witnessed Car Warz, the first Crash-A-Rama of the season at the Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex on Saturday evening. Jim Erb of Orlando, FL captured the featured School Bus Figure 8 race, while Rob Wodzinski of Buffalo took his third career Holland Crash-A-Rama Compact Car Enduro victory.

Erb started second in the 11 bus field, and raced by Joe DiCarlo on the second circuit of the 15 lap Figure 8 Bus go. Once in front, Erb was not seriously challenged, as he skillfully negotiated lapped traffic and crossing buses at the "x" to hold a nearly 3/4 lap advantage at the checkers for the $1000 top prize. Marty Hughes raced forward from the tenth starting spot to claim second in the late going, but a last lap tangle with a lapped bus knocked Hughes, a multi-time past winner of the event, out of action. Greg Urban nabbed the runner-up slot at the finish.

Earlier, Erb outbattled 23 other competitors to also win the 8 lap Flagpole race.

The 75 lap compact car enduro was essentially a two car battle for the lead, as Rob Wodzinski and Holland racing veteran John Grandits swapped the lead on a few occasions, with Wodzinski settling in front for good by lap 25. However, he could not shake Grandits, who hounded Wodzinski for the balance of the distance, with both leaders working through lapped traffic almost continuously. At the checkers, Wodzinski held five car length winning margin over Grandits. Wodzniski pocketed $3200 for his efforts. Sixty-Three cars took the opening green for this event.

In other action, Chris Ardenski of Depew, NY was a double winner, notching the 10 lap Boat/Trailer race over 16 other entries and capturing the win in Holland’s first ever motorhome Demolition Derby. The Haniszewski clan of Lancaster, NY fared well again, as Tim Haniszewski, Jr. was judged the winner of the roll-over contest, and Tyler Haniszewski survived to win the front wheel drive demolition derby over 25 competitors. The DiCarlo Brothers racing team took the Auto Roller Derby victory, while Keith Schaeffer of Canandaigua, NY was judged the winner of the burn-out contest in his Ghostbusters Special. The team of Jay Murphy of Arcade, NY and Floridian William Hindman took the 5 lap chain car race. The Ray Hadsell Flame Throwing cars also put on a scorching exhibition for the fans.

Car Warz, will return to Holland on Saturday, September 11th, for the second Crash-A-Rama of the season.