A Look at the George Decker Memorial 100

July 19, 2011 at 1:06 PM

One of the most prestigious events on the Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex’s schedule has been the George Decker Memorial 100 for the National Overhead Door Pro Modifieds. This event over the years has brought the stars and the cars of the Pro Modified ranks throughout Western and Central New York as well as Southern Ontario and Northern Pennsylvania to the Southern Erie County speed plant.

This year’s race will mark the 12th running of this race that is in memory of George Decker. George was a major supporter of the open-wheeled modified division at Holland for many years as well as sponsoring many competitors over the years. Son Barry Decker stated that “this race has grown over the years to become one of the most prestigious events for the competitors of the modified class”. The 100 lap, $2000 to win showdown will feature 30 of the best open-wheeled Pro Modified drivers throughout the region on the Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex 3/8th’s oval.

The first event happened in the year 2000 as former track champion Neal Dietz Jr was the winner of the 50 lap affair. Dietz Jr repeated this feat to become the first two-time winner in 2002. Former divisional champion Neil Hopkins won in 2001 and again in 2003 as the “Neal and Neil Show” dominated this event through the early years.

The 2004 edition of the event was won by Steve Hoxie and another Steve won in 2005 as Steve Kreitzbender was victorious. The ’05 event was the first event that was sanctioned by the Super Short Track Series (SST) and Earl Paules won the SST sanctioned portion of the Decker. In 2006 Neil Hopkins won his third Perpetual Trophy. Another add on to the event in 2007 as the race was bumped to a 100 lap event. The race was separated into two segments; a 25 lap dash for cash and a 75 lap feature event and former speedway champion Justin Shepker won the Dash for Cash while Steve Kreitzbender won his second George Decker Memorial. In 2008 and again in 2009, Jeff Price was victorious in the 100 lap affair and last season, Orchard Park native Patrick Emerling won an exciting event over Buck Catalano and John Barber.

The 2011 edition of the George Decker Memorial will add even more incentives for the drivers as Phyllis and Barry Decker will be giving away $100 dollars to the top five non Holland cars that cross the line. This will entice the competition and also an incentive for the invaders to compete in this prestigious race. Also this year, former Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex Figure 8 champion Dale McCool and his business, McCool Paint Workz will be giving out an award for the Best Appearing Car. The question still remains, who will take home the Will to Win Decker Memorial Perpetual Trophy in 2011. The answer to that question will be answered after the 100 lap event on the Holland high banks. The Speedway regulars will look to keep the win on their “home turf” but the invaders will look and try to take the victory as well. Joe Evans, Mike Fiebelkorn Jr, Andy Jankowiak, Amy and Dave Catalano, Neal Dietz Jr, Jeff Ruddy and more will all look to fend of the invaders. Some expected to be include Dick Kluth, Bobby Weber, Tim Hoegel, and former Late Model competitor Bobby Martin will all look to steal one away from the hometown favorites.

The Deckers would like to thank all of their sponsors and supporters for making this race possible. Hamburg Overhead Doors, Boston Deli, Schrader Industrial Sales, Team Fabrication Bullett Recovery Systems, Fireside Inn, D&H Excavating, Twinco, Bob McKerrow and Sons, Blue Hill Farm, Drake Lawn and Garden, Draudt’s Farm Market, Klispie Motorsports, AdvantageTruck.com, Nova Glass and Mirror, Star Service, Z&M Ag and Turf, Indoor Air Professionals, Aurora Car Care and RV Center, Fiebelkorn Collision and Racing Products, Pitstop Pizzeria, Rucker Lumber, T Nelson Sales, Al Morrison, AW Dye Insurance, Gator Equipment, LAMOT Series, Emerling Ford, Concord Mechanical, Shamel Milling Company, Pioneer Motorsports, Lamb & Webster, Alloy Welding and Fabrication, Orrin Becker, Spring Valley Landscaping, Pat White Construction, Valley Floor Company, Aunt Elaine and Uncle Mark, Aunt Sylvia and Uncle Bob, M &M Propane, Abbott Small Engines, Elma Liquor, Auto Wrench Connection, Martin Brothers Chevrolet, Jan-Cen Automotive, Sur burn Pest Control, Silverwood Farms, Southern Erie Construction, West Falls Racing, Julicher Automotive, and Rick Mahoney. Barry and Phyllis would also like to thank Steve Kreitzbender, Mike Piscitello, Castle Products, AutoZone of Springville, Dale McCool of McCool Paint Workz,

The Holland NASCAR Motorsports Complex Management, Staff, Race officials and safety crew and Steven Petty of the Gater Racing News for all of their support for making this race possible. Saturday’s program also features the Whelen All American Series including the LAMOT Late Models, Bank of Holland Chargers, Hornets, M&M U-Pull It Figure 8’s and the Casey’s TQ Midget Series. Pit gates open at 2:30pm, grandstand gates swing open at 3:00pm while Qualifying gets underway at 5pm and NASCAR racing will start promptly at 6:00pm. 

Rick Mooney interview with Barry Decker