Reigle, Russo Top Septemebr 10th Crash-A-Rama Win List

September 11, 2011 at 9:35 AM

Floridian Clint Reigle and Holland Hornet division regular Ben Russo of Lancaster, NY were the big winners in the second Crash-A-Rama of the 2011 season at the Holland Motorsports Complex on Saturday evening, September 10th. A tremendous fan turn-out enjoyed a beautiful late summer evening for the night of vehicular destruction at the Western New York oval.

Reigle took the win in the 15 lap School Bus Figure 8 main event over 11 other entries. Western New York racer Dave Powis jumped into the lead from his third starting spot on the first lap and opened up a wide lead, but Reigle, who started sixth, patiently worked his way through the field to take second by the 7th lap and began to narrow Powis’ lead advantage. Powis had to brake hard to avoid traffic at the ‘x" on the 14th lap, and Reigle was able to time his acceleration perfectly to blast by Powis for the lead and drive on to the win. Powis placed second, with Robert Coon, Greg Urban, and Kevin Becker completing the top five.

Earlier, Powis captured a four lap event for School Bus Figure 8 rookies over 5 other entries.

Eighty cars started the 100 lap compact enduro, as Luke Rutsky, Jeff Szafraniec, Ben Russo, and Bob Wodzinski, the winner of the June Crash-A-Rama enduro, took turns leading throughout the event. Russo made his winning pass by Wodzinski in heavy traffic on the 66th curcuit to race on to the $4,000 victory. Wodzinski placed second, with John Grandits in third. Both Szafraniec and Rutsky gave up top three positions in the final ten laps due to blown engines.

In other action, Derek Sutherland edged Greg Urban for the win in the 8 lap, 25 entry Flag Pole race, while Urban teamed with Marty Hughes and Joe Merlino to capture the 6 lap Auto Roller Derby race over 5 other teams. Jeff Offhaus won the 10 lap Boat Trailer race over 20 other entries, Joe Merlino emerged victorious in the Motorhome Demolition Derby, and again, the Haniszewski clan came out on top in the 24 car compact Demo Derby, as Tim Haniszewski, Jr. outlasted brother Tyler for the honors.

"RV Dave" Warner thrilled the crowd as he drove a stock Crown Vic through a wall of three upright car shells in the "Steel Wall of Destruction," then returned later to nail a dead-on target mid-air T-bone, driving a Suburu Wagon into on upright van shell.

Crash-A-Rama completes the on-track season at the Holland Motorsports Complex. The next event on the Holland schedule is the annual awards banquet, slated for Friday evening, November 18th, at the Airport Millennium Hotel in Cheektowaga, NY. For more information, contact the Holland office at (716)-537-2272.